An Order of the Arrow section consists of lodges within a geographic area of the region. Once every year, representatives of lodges in the section come together for a conclave to share in fellowship, skills, and training. In addition, the section creates a monitoring/mentoring relationship with its lodges, provides leadership development opportunities, fosters understanding and adherence to national OA policies and procedures, and coordinates OA administrative and program functions. A section is led by three elected youth officers, the section chief, section vice chief, and section secretary, who are advised by an adult section adviser and professional section staff adviser.

Eastern Region Section 9 serves six Virginia-based Boy Scout Councils and their respective Order of the Arrow lodges. The section (shown in the colored areas on the map to the right) covers most of the Commonwealth of Virginia and a few counties in West Virginia and North Carolina.

Each year the approximately fifty elected section chiefs are invited to a national planning meeting in Dallas, TX. The section chiefs form the conference committee for a national Order of the Arrow event, such as the national Order of the Arrow conference, which is held under the guidance of the national Order of the Arrow committee.

E9 consists of six Virgina-based lodges with territory spilling into parts of West Virginia and North Carolina